2012 NRL Grand Final Betting Preview

September 28th, 2012

The most anticipated game on the Rugby League calendar is finally here with the 2012 NRL Telstra Premiership grand final to bring ANZ Stadium to life this Sunday, September 30, with kick off scheduled for 5:15pm (local time).

It is set to be one of the lowest-scoring and tightest NRL grand finals in history two with the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs taking on the Melbourne Storm, the top two ranked teams in the competition facing off in the grand final for the 25th time.

2012 NRL Grand Final

  • Venue: ANZ Stadium, Sydney
  • Date: Sunday September 30, 2012
  • Kick-Off: 5:15pm (local time)
  • Who Won Last Time: Round 16 2012 – Bulldogs 20 v 4 Storm (Mackay)
  • Wins Apiece: Canterbury 15 – Melbourne 14
  • Referees: Tony Archer & Ben Cummins

The Des Hasler-coached Doggies have won 15 of their past 16 played to secure their first minor premiership in 18 years, while Craig Bellamy’s always dedicated Storm outfit come into the big one on the back of seven straight wins making up for their mid-season slump.

Evenly matched in the head-to-head markets between these two, this is a tough NRL grand final to call.

Both teams are sensational in attack thanks to stars like the Bulldogs Ben Barba and the Storm’s dynamic trio of Billy Slater, Cameron Smith and Cooper Cronk.

Their defense and kicking games are just as good and we are tipping a very tight scoreline here.

Plenty is on the line and the backstory is rich as it always is this time of year.

Hasler is out to become the first NRL coach in history to win successive premierships with different clubs following his success with the Sea Eagles last year.

The Storm meanwhile shoot for their first ‘official’ premiership wins after their 2007 and 2009 victories were stripped from them as part of the infamous salary cap rort.

Both had a cruisy preliminary final running away with their victories to secure a spot here, so who will it be?

Can the rejuvenated Canterbury Bulldogs prove the bookies, who have them as the narrow outsiders in the NRL odds, wrong and continue their dream season by going all the way?

Or will the grand final, 11 players having featured in a GF, and representative experience of Melbourne give them the upper hand in this blockbuster battle for the crown?

Whatever team you’re backing to become this year’s NRL premiers the key is to get in on those exotic NRL betting markets available online at bookmaker.com.au and really clean up before we say goodbye to another footy season.

Below we take a look at some of the most popular bet types for the grand final as well as provide some NRL grand final betting tips for you to back at bookmaker.com.au – home of the famous $400 bonus welcome bet offer.

2012 NRL Grand Final Betting Markets

Head-to-Head: Bulldogs ($2.03) – Storm ($1.79)

  • Tip – Melbourne

Half-time Result (Draw No Bet): Bulldogs ($1.95) – Storm ($1.86)

  • Tip – Melbourne to lead at half time

Tri Bet: Canterbury Bulldogs Over 6.5 Points ($3), Either Team Under 6.5 ($2.50), Melbourne Storm Over 6.5 Points ($2.85)

  • Tip – Melbourne under 6.5

First Scoring Play: Canterbury Bulldogs Try ($2.10), Canterbury Bulldogs Penalty Goal ($14), Melbourne Storm Try ($2), Melbourne Storm Penalty Goal ($14), Any Other Result ($101)

  • Tip – Canterbury Try

Winning Margin: Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 1-12 ($3.05), Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 13+ ($5.25), Draw ($21), Melbourne Storm 1-12 ($2.75), Melbourne Storm 13+ ($4.65)

  • Tip – Melbourne By 4

2012 NRL Grand Final Teams

Canterbury Bulldogs Grand Final 2012 Players:

  • Ben Barba, Sam Perrett, Josh Morris, Krisnan Inu, Jonathan Wright, Josh Reynolds, Kris Keating, Aiden Tolman, Michael Ennis (c), Sam Kasiano, Frank Pritchard, Josh Jackson, Greg Eastwood. Interchange: James Graham, Dale Finucane, Corey Payne, David Stagg, Dene Halatau (one to be omitted).

Melbourne Storm Grand Final 2012 Players:

  • Billy Slater, Sisa Waqa, Dane Nielsen, Will Chambers, Justin O’Neill, Gareth Widdop, Cooper Cronk, Jessie Bromwich, Cameron Smith (c), Bryan Norrie, Sika Manu, Ryan Hoffman, Todd Lowire. Interchange: Ryan Hinchcliffe, Kevin Proctor, Jaiman Lowe, Richie Fa’aoso, Rory Kostjayson, Mahe Fonua, Siosaia Vave, Anthony Quinn (four to be omitted).

*NRL Grand Final odds subject to change – see bookmaker.com.au for updates and to bet now!